Skip to content
Adult learner with headphones in a live intermediate spoken English class
Intermediate

Intermediate spoken English in India — From basic sentences to fluent talk

You can say the sentence. It just comes out with the wrong tense, three ums and no link to the next idea. That is intermediate — and it is a different problem from being a beginner.

Last updated . Fees and institute bands checked against public 2026 prices.

Short answer

If simple sentences work but accuracy and flow do not, you need grammar and speaking in the same class — not a beginner course, not a speaking club. Our Intermediate Spoken English is 4 months, ₹1,999/month inclusive of taxes, about 6 learners, 30 min grammar + 1 hour communication every class.

Most Indian learners who search for “advanced spoken English” are not beginners and not advanced. They studied English for twelve years, they can read a news article, and they can introduce themselves. What breaks is speed and accuracy together: the moment they talk faster, “he go”, “I am knowing” and “yesterday I have gone” come back, the fillers start, and the idea that needed three linked sentences comes out as six short ones.

A 60-second self-test

  1. Set a timer for 60 seconds. Talk about the last film or match you watched. Record it.
  2. Play it back. Count every um, ah, like and basically.
  3. Count the tense mistakes — especially past simple vs present perfect.
  4. Count how many times you used because, although, so, however, if.
What you heardYour levelThe room
You could not finish 60 seconds, or stopped to translate every sentenceBeginnerBasic Spoken English — 6 months, ₹999/month
You finished, but with 8+ fillers, tense slips and almost no connectorsIntermediateIntermediate Spoken English — 4 months, ₹1,999/month
Clean grammar on the recording, but you freeze in front of peopleFreeze, not grammarInteractive Speaking — 3 months, ₹1,599/month
Fine in chat, lost in meetings and client callsWorkplaceBusiness English — 3 months, ₹2,499/month
What your recording says about the right room.

What 4 months actually cover

Every 90-minute class has the same rhythm: 30 minutes of grammar, then one hour of communication — speaking, writing, active listening and reading. The grammar from the first half goes straight into a timed turn, a role-play or a discussion in the second.

WhenPhaseGrammarSpeaking & listening
Months 1–2FoundationAll 8 parts of speech, tenses & articles, subject-verb agreement, Wh- and Yes/No questionsLSRW loop, vowels/consonants/stress, 60–90 second timed turns, filler drills
Month 3Expanding & ConnectingConnectors & modalsDeclining invitations, summarising, describing experiences, negotiation, podcasts/news/TED-style listening
Month 4Fluency & ConfidenceConditionals — zero, first, secondDebates, polite interrupting, decision-making language, 2–3 minute presentations + Q&A, role-play, storytelling
Month spans are the plan for a typical batch. The course is extendable.

Vocabulary runs underneath all four months: news & current events, work & career, idioms, collocations and phrasal verbs. The full month-by-month roadmap and coverage map are on the course page.

Why intermediate learners stall

  • More grammar books. You already know the rule. You need to use it at speaking speed, with someone who hears the slip.
  • Only a speaking club. Talking more with the same errors makes the errors faster. Practice without correction is rehearsal of mistakes.
  • Only an app. Good for vocabulary and listening. It rarely makes you argue, interrupt politely or answer a question after a presentation.
  • A beginner batch. Too slow — you stop attending by week three.

Five drills you can start free today

  1. Shadow speaking. Play 30 seconds of a podcast or news clip, pause, repeat it with the same rhythm. Ten minutes a day.
  2. The filler count. One 60-second recording a day. Write the filler count on a calendar. Watch the number fall.
  3. Connector swap. Retell your day using because, although, so, however and if at least once each.
  4. Conditional chain. “If I wake up early, I will… If I had a car, I would…” — five lines, out loud.
  5. Retell, don't summarise. Listen to a 2-minute clip and retell it in your own words in 60 seconds.
Same idea — beginner vs intermediate target

Before: I went office. Traffic was there. I was late. Boss was angry.

After: I was late to the office because the traffic was terrible, so my manager was a little upset.

Before: If I will get leave, I go to Goa.

After: If I get leave next month, I will go to Goa.

What we will not promise

  • Not native-level English in 4 months. Connected, more accurate speech — yes.
  • No certificate or band score. Exam English is a separate paper; we do not sell IELTS.
  • No job outcome. Clearer English removes one barrier; it is not a placement.

Intermediate Spoken English: 4 months, ₹1,999/month inclusive of taxes, about 6 learners, live.

Why we're different

Daily practice, a live teacher and your own language — from ₹999/month$49/mo

Learn With Smile is the all-in-one way to learn spoken English at a low cost: live classes in a small batch, the Bolo daily-practice app, video lessons, a weekly teacher review and the same teacher — all in one monthly fee from ₹999$49, taught in English, Hindi or Marathi.

  • Learn With SmileFrom ₹999/month$49/mo

    Daily practice: Yes — the Bolo app, every day, with a streakTeacher: Yes — about 6 learners, same teacherYour language: Hindi, Marathi or EnglishHow you pay: Yes — no auto-debit, no loans, refund in writing
  • Josh SkillsFrom ₹58/month (their page)

    Daily practice: Recorded video lessonsTeacher: Optional live group sessionsYour language: Explained in 7 Indian languagesHow you pay: Terms not stated on the page we checked
  • EngVarta₹2,700 for 25 sessions

    Daily practice: Only the calls you buyTeacher: Yes — 1:1 calls of about 15 minutesYour language: Guides for Hindi and Marathi speakers; calls in EnglishHow you pay: Prepaid session plans; trial plan refundable (developer reply)
  • Cambly₹8,000–₹15,000/month if daily

    Daily practice: Only the lessons you bookTeacher: Yes — 1:1, tutor of your choiceYour language: English onlyHow you pay: Plans auto-renew until you turn renewal off
  • Preply₹250–₹4,000 per lesson

    Daily practice: Only the lessons you bookTeacher: Yes — 1:1, tutor you chooseYour language: Depends on the tutorHow you pay: 28-day plan that renews on your saved card; no lock-in
  • italki₹250–₹4,000 per lesson

    Daily practice: Only the lessons you bookTeacher: Yes — 1:1, tutor you chooseYour language: Depends on the tutorHow you pay: Pay per lesson with credits; refunds as credits
  • British Council₹8,800–₹16,000 per module

    Daily practice: Self-study material alongside classesTeacher: Yes — live group classesYour language: English onlyHow you pay: Paid per module, upfront
  • Duolingo · ELSA Speak₹300–₹1,200/month

    Daily practice: YesTeacher: No live teacherYour language: Duolingo teaches English from HindiHow you pay: Free tier, or a subscription that auto-renews
  • PlanetSpark₹13,000–₹65,000 per course

    Daily practice: Not stated on the page we checkedTeacher: Yes — live 1:1 classesYour language: Not stated on the page we checkedHow you pay: Course packages; unused classes refundable on request (their reply)
  • City classrooms and chains₹2,000–₹10,000/month

    Daily practice: Worksheets onlyTeacher: Yes, in rooms of 25–40Your language: RarelyHow you pay: Often several months paid upfront

Checked 3 November 2026 against each provider's public pages: Josh Skills, EngVarta, Cambly, Preply, italki, British Council, Duolingo · ELSA Speak, PlanetSpark. Prices are typical 2026 bands in India. City classrooms: local listings. PlanetSpark teaches children 4–13 and is shown as the luxury end of the market; every Learn With Smile course is for adults 15+.

Names and logos of other providers are trademarks of their respective owners, shown only to identify them in a factual comparison. Learn With Smile is not affiliated with, endorsed or sponsored by any of them, and no copyright or trademark infringement is intended. Facts come from each provider's public pages; prices and terms change, so confirm on their site before you pay. A trademark owner who wants their mark removed can write to info@learnwithsmile.app.

If you want to practise English every day at an affordable price — and have a real teacher check it — take a Learn With Smile course. Ask on WhatsApp

One fee · the complete package

Live classes, the Bolo app and the same teacher — from ₹999/month$49/mo.

See every fee

Live classesUp to 2 a week · 90 min · approx. 6 learners.

Bolo · PracticeDaily grammar, vocabulary, reading, speaking — with a streak.

Bolo · WatchVideo lessons: tips to start speaking, grammar, fluency.

Bolo · ReviewYour teacher checks your reading and speaking every week.

Same teacherReal teachers. One teacher for your batch.

FAQs

Intermediate spoken English — questions

Straight answers. Message anytime; WhatsApp replies 10am–midnight IST every day.

How do I know if I am an intermediate English speaker?

You can introduce yourself, order food and answer simple questions in English, but tenses slip when you talk fast, you fill gaps with um and like, and longer ideas come out as short broken sentences. Roughly CEFR A2–B1. If you cannot yet finish a simple sentence aloud, you are a beginner — start with Basic Spoken English.

How can I improve my English from intermediate to fluent?

Three things together: fix the few grammar patterns you repeat wrongly (usually tenses, articles and agreement), speak in timed 60–90 second turns every day, and listen to real English — podcasts, news, talks — then retell it. Record yourself and count fillers. A live class adds a teacher who hears the same error and a group to debate and present to.

What is the fee for the intermediate course at Learn With Smile?

Intermediate Spoken English is ₹1,999 per month, inclusive of taxes, for 4 months — up to 2 live classes a week of 90 minutes, approximately 6 learners. Each class is 30 minutes of grammar and 1 hour of communication. The course is extendable.

Is an intermediate course the same as an advanced spoken English course?

Many Indian institutes call the step after basic “advanced”. Here it is called Intermediate: grammar accuracy plus connected speech, debates and presentations. Workplace English — meetings, client calls, emails — is a separate room, Business English.

Free group consultation — we send a booking link on WhatsApp. Want to sit in a real class? Book the ₹199$10 Demo Class.

Free group consultation. Your plan in writing.

A free group slot with our team. You tell us your goal, we name the bottleneck and put the right course and its fee in writing. Then you enrol — or you walk. It is advice, not a class.

100% freeSmall batchSpoken EnglishFee in writing

See

The bottleneck

Named in one sentence. Spoken, freeze, workplace, interview, or career.

Get

One course, in writing

Fee, duration, batch size, IST slot. Or an honest “this is not us”.

Then

You decide

Enrol, or walk. Still free. We do not take money until you have seen the room.