Skip to content
IELTS candidate preparing Writing Task 2 with a teacher
IELTS fees

IELTS coaching fees in India, 2026 — Market fees, not our product

Market: ₹8,000–₹35,000 for a full course, often 20–40 in a room, plus the exam fee — ₹19,000 from April 2026, paid to IDP. Learn With Smile does not sell IELTS as a course. If you cannot hold a conversation yet, start with Spoken English.

Last updated . Fees and institute bands checked against public 2026 prices.

Short answer

Budget ₹8,000–₹35,000 for coaching plus the exam fee — ₹19,000 for Academic or General Training since 1 April 2026, paid to IDP. Learn With Smile does not run an IELTS room. If you cannot hold a conversation yet, do not buy IELTS first — start with Spoken English at ₹999/month.

Two invoices get mixed up. Coaching is what an institute charges. The exam is what IDP charges — ₹19,000 for IELTS Academic or General Training in India since 1 April 2026, ₹19,250 for IELTS for UKVI. IDP has been the only IELTS provider in India since 2021. No honest coaching price includes it; check the current fee on IDP's site before you book.

What coaching costs in India in 2026

FormatTypical feeRoom
Large institute classroom₹15,000–₹35,000 package20–40 learners
British Council-style moduleOften ₹8,800–₹16,000Brand syllabus / certificate
1:1 online tutor₹500–₹2,000 / sessionMinutes, variable marking
Learn With SmileDoes not sell IELTS — Spoken English from ₹999/month~6 learners, live speaking
Public bands. Confirm on the provider's site. Learn With Smile does not sell an IELTS row.

Spoken English, Interactive, Workplace and Interview Preparation fees sit on the India fees guide. Do not buy IELTS coaching to “get a better job in India” if no form asked for a band.

What is not included anywhere honest

  • The exam fee — ₹19,000 since April 2026, paid to IDP. Check before booking.
  • A guaranteed band. No ethical coach can promise Band 7.
  • A school certificate from Learn With Smile. We do not issue one, and we do not sell IELTS.
  • Speaking ability. If you cannot hold a conversation, cue-card drills will not build the sentence.

Start with Spoken English if this is you

Band 5.5 because you cannot talk is a speaking problem. Cue-card drills will not build the sentence. Take beginner Spoken English first. The picker: Spoken or IELTS. Free structure: Band 7 four-paragraph template.

Total cost, worked out

RouteCoachingExamTotal
Self-study with official free practice tests₹0₹19,000₹19,000
Online 1:1 tutor, 10 sessions at about ₹1,000₹10,000₹19,000About ₹29,000
Large institute package₹15,000–₹35,000₹19,000₹34,000–₹54,000
Any route + one retake—+₹19,000Often the biggest hidden cost
Exam fee for IELTS Academic or General Training in India from 1 April 2026. Check IDP's site before booking.

Free official preparation

  • The IELTS, IDP and British Council websites all publish free practice tests and sample answers — start there before paying anyone.
  • Take one full practice test under timed conditions. The weakest of the four skills tells you what, if anything, to pay for.
  • Writing Task 2 rewards a fixed structure: the four-paragraph template.

If the weak skill is Speaking because you cannot yet hold a conversation, that is not an IELTS problem. It is a spoken English problem, and it is cheaper to fix first.

If speaking is the gap, start here. ₹999/mo, approx. 6 learners. Inclusive of taxes.

Why we're different

Daily practice, a live teacher and your own language — from ₹999/month$49/mo

Learn With Smile is the all-in-one way to learn spoken English at a low cost: live classes in a small batch, the Bolo daily-practice app, video lessons, a weekly teacher review and the same teacher — all in one monthly fee from ₹999$49, taught in English, Hindi or Marathi.

  • Learn With SmileFrom ₹999/month$49/mo

    Daily practice: Yes — the Bolo app, every day, with a streakTeacher: Yes — about 6 learners, same teacherYour language: Hindi, Marathi or EnglishHow you pay: Yes — no auto-debit, no loans, refund in writing
  • Josh SkillsFrom ₹58/month (their page)

    Daily practice: Recorded video lessonsTeacher: Optional live group sessionsYour language: Explained in 7 Indian languagesHow you pay: Terms not stated on the page we checked
  • EngVarta₹2,700 for 25 sessions

    Daily practice: Only the calls you buyTeacher: Yes — 1:1 calls of about 15 minutesYour language: Guides for Hindi and Marathi speakers; calls in EnglishHow you pay: Prepaid session plans; trial plan refundable (developer reply)
  • Cambly₹8,000–₹15,000/month if daily

    Daily practice: Only the lessons you bookTeacher: Yes — 1:1, tutor of your choiceYour language: English onlyHow you pay: Plans auto-renew until you turn renewal off
  • Preply₹250–₹4,000 per lesson

    Daily practice: Only the lessons you bookTeacher: Yes — 1:1, tutor you chooseYour language: Depends on the tutorHow you pay: 28-day plan that renews on your saved card; no lock-in
  • italki₹250–₹4,000 per lesson

    Daily practice: Only the lessons you bookTeacher: Yes — 1:1, tutor you chooseYour language: Depends on the tutorHow you pay: Pay per lesson with credits; refunds as credits
  • British Council₹8,800–₹16,000 per module

    Daily practice: Self-study material alongside classesTeacher: Yes — live group classesYour language: English onlyHow you pay: Paid per module, upfront
  • Duolingo · ELSA Speak₹300–₹1,200/month

    Daily practice: YesTeacher: No live teacherYour language: Duolingo teaches English from HindiHow you pay: Free tier, or a subscription that auto-renews
  • PlanetSpark₹13,000–₹65,000 per course

    Daily practice: Not stated on the page we checkedTeacher: Yes — live 1:1 classesYour language: Not stated on the page we checkedHow you pay: Course packages; unused classes refundable on request (their reply)
  • City classrooms and chains₹2,000–₹10,000/month

    Daily practice: Worksheets onlyTeacher: Yes, in rooms of 25–40Your language: RarelyHow you pay: Often several months paid upfront

Checked 3 November 2026 against each provider's public pages: Josh Skills, EngVarta, Cambly, Preply, italki, British Council, Duolingo · ELSA Speak, PlanetSpark. Prices are typical 2026 bands in India. City classrooms: local listings. PlanetSpark teaches children 4–13 and is shown as the luxury end of the market; every Learn With Smile course is for adults 15+.

Names and logos of other providers are trademarks of their respective owners, shown only to identify them in a factual comparison. Learn With Smile is not affiliated with, endorsed or sponsored by any of them, and no copyright or trademark infringement is intended. Facts come from each provider's public pages; prices and terms change, so confirm on their site before you pay. A trademark owner who wants their mark removed can write to info@learnwithsmile.app.

If you want to practise English every day at an affordable price — and have a real teacher check it — take a Learn With Smile course. Ask on WhatsApp

One fee · the complete package

Live classes, the Bolo app and the same teacher — from ₹999/month$49/mo.

See every fee

Live classesUp to 2 a week · 90 min · approx. 6 learners.

Bolo · PracticeDaily grammar, vocabulary, reading, speaking — with a streak.

Bolo · WatchVideo lessons: tips to start speaking, grammar, fluency.

Bolo · ReviewYour teacher checks your reading and speaking every week.

Same teacherReal teachers. One teacher for your batch.

FAQs

IELTS fees — questions

Straight answers. Message anytime; WhatsApp replies 10am–midnight IST every day.

How much does IELTS coaching cost in India in 2026?

Full IELTS courses typically run ₹8,000–₹35,000, with large-institute classrooms at the higher end and 20–40 students per batch. The IELTS exam fee is separate — ₹19,000 since April 2026, paid to IDP, the IELTS provider in India. Learn With Smile does not sell IELTS as a course. If you cannot yet hold a conversation, start with Spoken English at ₹999/month.

Does IELTS coaching guarantee Band 7?

No ethical course can. Writing is usually the bottleneck. The test board issues the score. Learn With Smile does not sell IELTS. If you cannot yet hold a conversation, start with Spoken English, not an exam shop.

What is the IELTS exam fee in India in 2026?

₹19,000 for IELTS Academic or General Training, from 1 April 2026 (₹19,250 for IELTS for UKVI). In India the test is run by IDP; check the current fee on IDP's site before booking. Coaching, if you buy it, is separate. Learn With Smile does not sell IELTS coaching.

Free group consultation — we send a booking link on WhatsApp. Want to sit in a real class? Book the ₹199$10 Demo Class.

Free group consultation. Your plan in writing.

A free group slot with our team. You tell us your goal, we name the bottleneck and put the right course and its fee in writing. Then you enrol — or you walk. It is advice, not a class.

100% freeSmall batchSpoken EnglishFee in writing

See

The bottleneck

Named in one sentence. Spoken, freeze, workplace, interview, or career.

Get

One course, in writing

Fee, duration, batch size, IST slot. Or an honest “this is not us”.

Then

You decide

Enrol, or walk. Still free. We do not take money until you have seen the room.